#BEGIN

Starting my day with a start is a frequent occurrence in my life. Last night, I was working on a video compilation that took hours to render. Even with that, I had lost the previous copy of the software, so I had to download a new (and updated) copy of it. Knowing how the internet in this area is, I’m quite sure you could give a good estimate of how long it would take to download a one-point-something gig file. Considering that I had struggle between an average range of 25KB/s and 50KB/s (and some not-so-regular peaks of 140KB/s. I guess you could estimate at about VERY LONG. I couldn’t even risk browsing other sites so as not to reduce the download speed. Apart from watching IDM’s spreadsheet-like interface and hoping that I see ’10 seconds left’, the only other thing I could do was read an article from 234 NEXT’s site about a funny story on some WITZAN association (I bet you’ve never heard of that before). You can find the story here. I couldn’t even tweet through my phone again, partly because the only people I had left on my timeline were these ‘feeds’ profiles that feed you with only God knows what (they’re helpful sometimes though). All I was left to do was switch between IDM’s spreadsheet and the already open web page, and this was as good as counting sheep. Before I knew it, I had drifted off to sleep. This was around 2 am (I hadn’t even finished downloading the program)

“YouKay, YouKay, wake up and get ready for church” was the next thing I heard. What!! Everywhere seemed so bright and lovely. I quickly checked the time 7:53 am!! Oh, God! With the many things I needed to do before I left for Calabar, I started running around with no particular direction in mind. Then it hit me!

I had not started with the rendering yet. I checked the download manager – Complete – it said. I quickly opened the folder and since the packages were compressed, I had to extract all to a single folder. As if that wasn’t enough, when I opened the folder, lo and behold! There were more compressed packages in it. Lord, have mercy. After a good ten minutes, I finally extracted the much needed .ISO file. Every action I did seemed to be going so slowly while time seemed to rush by as fast as it could. I left the software to install, while I did some other things. After what seemed like years, the installation finally bid me goodbye by saying
“INSTALL SUCCESSFUL, WOULD YOU LIKE TO RUN THE PROGRAM NOW?”
Yes! Of course. My head was aching, my heart pumping high grade adrenaline through my system. I became hyperactive. As quickly as I could, I packed the video files into the render project, amd knowing well that I wouldn’t finish the render by the time we left for church, I clicked ‘continue’ – in good faith of course. (I had to produce 3 DVDs from the render)

“YouKay, please come and put the kids in the car” That was my uncle calling. Thank God I’d had my bath. It was just a matter of dressing up and brushing my hair 😉
After a couple of struggles and a few shouts, the kids finally got into their seat belts – except one though! Then, I got my luggage and myself into the car. Everywhere seemed calm while we waited for the woman of the house to come out so we can go.

But wait! I’ve had this feeling before. Its a feeling I’ve always remembered. A feeling that I’ve forgotten something. now to think of what that ‘thing’ was. Yes! I had forgotten to dress the bed. As a visitor in any place, its only polite for yu to dress the bed when you are leaving, right? Yes! SMH (Shaking my head), I immediately went back to the room to dress the bed, and from the look of things, I also knew I needed to sweep the room.

Honk Honk Honk!! That was the sound of the Mitsubishi SUV. It’s forever registered in my brain. After all those honking through Lagos traffic, honking for the security man, and honking to signify “I have come back oo”, why wouldn’t it register. This time though, I knew it was for “Let us start moving oo”. After a few well spread honks, we finally got a-moving.

I’ve always disliked long drives, especially those over water. With the church being on the mainland, while we lived on the island, we just had to cross the 3rd MainLand Bridge. I just had to endure the ride. I felt like throwing up!
Close to 45 minutes gone, we finally found ourselves at the church gates. KICC, Maryland is a wonderful place to serve God. Today’s service was mostly about the kids. A lot of prayers were said on them, and with the fact that I had no kid yet, I humbly prayed for my siblings.

For a flight that would take off around 5 pm, getting to the airport at noon was a little bit too early. But in my life, I never consider anything as ‘too early’. Tis better to wait than allow the event be come and gone’. I got to eat breakfast a Burcello’s – a quarter chicken with some rice and salad to go with it. I quickly took down the rice and salad, but when it came to the chicken, I was faced with two options

      Eat ‘Englishman’ style with fork and knife
    Eat ‘Normal’ style with hands and palms

Of course jurr, it struck my brain that there’s no use ordering a quarter chicken if you weren’t even gonna eat half of it, and moreover, at KFC (master of the chicken), it is considered perfectly abnormal to go Englishman style on an 8-piece bucket. Yes! I got my hands dirty and it felt so good. I even cracked a few bones (we all know that’s the best part of eating a chicken. LOL) after eating my food with a background music of Nigeria’s Presidential Inauguration, I felt like having a nap on their soft ‘Burcellic’ chairs. But I knew that would just kill me. I needed to get my hands clean again. A few minutes later, I found myself at the open lobby looking for a place to sit. The open lobby want like the waiting lobby where there was an abundance of chairs. Chairs were damn scarce here as passengers as well as their friends occupied everywhere just chatting the time away. I finally saw a chair, and started walking towards it. Then I saw her.

Thanks for reading this first part, please do watch out for my next post! LOL.. Cheers

#END

 

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

